Surrey PCC elections: Conservatives oust Kevin Hurley


The Conservatives have defeated independent Kevin Hurley as police and crime commissioner for Surrey

David MunroImage captionDavid Munro is a former chairman at Surrey County Council

Former Army major and Surrey County Council chairman David Munro took 100,122 votes including second-preferences.

Mr Hurley, who was standing for re-election as an independent, came second with 57,681 votes.

Counting went into a second round, after Mr Munro led the first round with 35.3%.

He said: “I am delighted in the confidence shown me by Surrey residents and promise to serve them to the best of my ability for the next four years.

“I am particularly looking forward to working with the chief constable and all ranks and staff of Surrey Police in our joint enterprise of serving everyone in Surrey.”

Kevin Hurley, outgoing PCC, said: “In my day as a police officer, we used to say ‘the public gets the police force they deserve’ and in this case, they will get the police force with the budget that they voted for.”

‘Irresponsible’ comments

Mr Munro campaigned to give Surrey Police a “fresh start” after the force was rated inadequate at protecting vulnerable victims.

He plans to stand down as a county councillor in Farnham.

BBC Surrey political reporter Jack Fiehn said one of Mr Munro’s first jobs would be to appoint a permanent chief constable, after Lynn Owens left last year to head the National Crime Agency.

Mr Hurley said in February he had considered seeking her dismissal after inspectors raised concerns about public protection and child safeguarding in Surrey.

During the election campaign, Mr Hurley said he wanted to “batter and break the legs” of a man convicted of a stabbing – comments attacked as “vile” and “irresponsible” by Mr Munro.

Candidates who stood in Surrey are listed alphabetically by surname below. BBC News App users: tap here to see the results.

Surrey Constabulary
Candidate Party Results after second round
Kevin Hurley Zero Tolerance Policing ex Chief 57,681
David Munro Conservative 100,122
Surrey Constabulary
Candidate Party Results after first round
Jamie Goldrick Independent 14,007
Kevin Hurley Zero Tolerance Policing ex Chief 41,603
Camille Juliff Independent 12,746
Howard Kaye Labour 28,005
Paul Kennedy Liberal Democrat 29,933
David Munro Conservative 82,125
Julia Searle UKIP 24,055

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *